Log in

2017 J. Franklin Archival Advocacy Award

Wednesday, December 07, 2016 2:05 PM | Deleted user
The Society of American Archivists is currently seeking nominations for the 2017 J. Franklin Archival Advocacy Award.  See details below.

Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs.  The individual's or institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work.  Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond. Up to three awards may be given each year.

Recent Winners:

2016: Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ron Chernow

2015: Adrena Ifill Blagburn

2014: LGBT Center of Central PA History Project National History Day

2013:  Dr. Warren Stewart

2012:  Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart

2011:  “Who Do You Think You Are?” (NBC)

2010:  The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation

2009:  Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)

2008:  Data-Intensive Cyber Environments (DICE) 

Eligibility: Nominees must be from outside the archives profession.  Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

Mailed materials must be postmarked by February 28, 2017 and should be sent to:

J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Committee
Society of American Archivists

17 North State Street, Suite 1425

Chicago, IL 60602-4061

Nominations may be submitted electronically; please see the nomination form for details.  For more information on SAA awards and the nominations process, please go to: http://www.archivists.org/recognition/index.asp


Questions? communications@nycarchivists.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software